International Transgender Day of Visibility

March 31st, 2016 was celebrated as International Transgender Day of Visibility (TDOV). TransWave is committed to promoting transgender health and well-being and as such a TDOV campaign was undertaken to highlight and celebrate the struggle, the acceptance, the journey and the successes of transgender people in Jamaica.

In case you missed the video campaign on our Facebook Page, watch them here!

Keyanna shares her thoughts on visibility and her vision for transgender women in Jamaica.

 

Renee reflects on the meaning of visibility and it’s importance to her

 

Mindy discusses the impact ‪#‎TDOV‬ has on her life.

 

 

Neish shares what ‪#‎TDOV‬ means for him and his hope for Jamaica

 

In addition to the videos, there was a photo campaign that also included other Jamaican transgender men and women. Here are the image along with quotes from our inspirational transgender men and women.

 

Sean TDOV
Sean-Claude

 

 

“My name is Sean-Claude Neufville. I’m 29 years old. I’m a motivational speaker and a future psychologist and a proud Jamaican transman. I live in The Netherland where I will be doing my transition. It is my dream to inspire other transmen in Jamaica and the wider Caribbean to live in their truth by sharing my journey.”

 

 

 

 

Kyym.jpg
Kyym

 

“Hi! I’m Kyym! I’m a transgender woman. I love everything about me. I love who and what I’ve become. I wouldn’t trade the pain for anything in this world, as it is the foundation of the strength I never knew I had. There’s something special about me. People will never be able to get the best of me.”

 

 

 

Ashley
Ashley

 

 

“I’m Ashley. I’m fun. Brave. Loving. A fashionista.A blogger and I’m a Jamaican transwoman”

 

 

 

 

FJ5
FJ

“Hi. I’m FJ. Being visible is a powerful and complex act. It is a demonstration of leadership, an act of defiance, but perhaps most importantly, it is an act of affirmation and strength, embracing the totality of who you are and standing in your truth”

Jessica TDOV.jpg
Jessica

 

 

“I am Jessica Burton – a proud woman who supports my fellow Jamaican trans community with one love, one heart”.

 

 

 

 

 

 

While we celebrate and applaud the visibility of our transgender community, we also reflect on those who are not able to make that step. We celebrate ALL transgender people regardless of their visibility. We hope that the visibility of some gives other transgender people comfort in knowing that the community is here.

Visibility does not end on International Transgender Day of Visibility. Through continued advocacy, it is our hope to enlighten and educate Jamaicans in order to reduce stigma and discrimination faced by transgender people as well as to increase access to services so that the lives of transgender Jamaicans can be improved.

 

2 thoughts on “International Transgender Day of Visibility

Leave a Reply

